Advance per pawn (8 g) published by 6 banks, checked Friday 6 November 2026
| Bank | Advance per pawn | Interest a year | Interest a month | Share of gold value | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regional Development Bank Pawning, 3 months | Rs 240,000 | 15.0% | Rs 3,000 | 75% | From 26.02.2026 |
| Cargills Bank Gold loan pawning | Rs 235,620 | not stated | – | 74% | Checked 2026-11-06 |
| Seylan Bank Gold loan plus, 3 months | Rs 229,000 | 15.5% | Rs 2,958 | 72% | Checked 2026-11-06 |
| Seylan Bank Gold loan, 3 months | Rs 228,000 | 14.5% | Rs 2,755 | 71% | Checked 2026-11-06 |
| Seylan Bank Gold loan plus, 6 months | Rs 227,000 | 14.0% | Rs 2,648 | 71% | Checked 2026-11-06 |
| Seylan Bank Pawning | Rs 226,000 | 14.5% | Rs 2,731 | 71% | Checked 2026-11-06 |
| DFCC Bank Ranwarama gold loan | Rs 222,500 | 13.95% | Rs 2,587 | 70% | Checked 2026-11-06 |
| SDB bank Pawning | Rs 220,000 | not stated | – | 69% | From 01st June 2026 |
| DFCC Bank Ranwarama pawning | Rs 217,500 | 13.95% | Rs 2,528 | 68% | Checked 2026-11-06 |
| Regional Development Bank Pawning, 6 months | Rs 215,000 | 14.0% | Rs 2,508 | 67% | From 26.02.2026 |
| National Savings Bank Ran Sahana pawning | Rs 210,000 | not stated | – | 66% | Checked 2026-11-06 |
| Regional Development Bank Pawning, 12 months | Rs 210,000 | 12.9% | Rs 2,258 | 66% | From 26.02.2026 |
Published advances from 6 banks, checked against each bank's website every day. Advances and rates change often, so confirm at the branch before pawning. Banks that do not publish an advance amount are not listed.
Every published product side by side. Empty cells mean the bank does not publish an amount for that carat.
| Bank and product | 24 carat | 22 carat | 21 carat | 18 carat | Interest a year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regional Development Bank Pawning, 3 months | Rs 290,000 | Rs 240,000 | Rs 220,000 | Rs 185,000 | 15.0% |
| Cargills Bank Gold loan pawning | Rs 257,040 | Rs 235,620 | – | – | not stated |
| Seylan Bank Gold loan plus, 3 months | Rs 252,000 | Rs 229,000 | Rs 219,000 | Rs 190,000 | 15.5% |
| Seylan Bank Gold loan, 3 months | Rs 251,000 | Rs 228,000 | Rs 218,000 | Rs 188,000 | 14.5% |
| Seylan Bank Gold loan plus, 6 months | Rs 250,000 | Rs 227,000 | Rs 217,000 | Rs 187,000 | 14.0% |
| Seylan Bank Pawning | Rs 249,000 | Rs 226,000 | Rs 216,000 | Rs 186,000 | 14.5% |
| DFCC Bank Ranwarama gold loan | Rs 243,500 | Rs 222,500 | Rs 211,250 | Rs 177,500 | 13.95% |
| SDB bank Pawning | Rs 238,000 | Rs 220,000 | – | – | not stated |
| DFCC Bank Ranwarama pawning | Rs 238,500 | Rs 217,500 | Rs 206,250 | Rs 172,500 | 13.95% |
| Regional Development Bank Pawning, 6 months | Rs 265,000 | Rs 215,000 | Rs 185,000 | Rs 155,000 | 14.0% |
| National Savings Bank Ran Sahana pawning | Rs 228,000 | Rs 210,000 | Rs 200,500 | Rs 171,800 | not stated |
| Regional Development Bank Pawning, 12 months | Rs 260,000 | Rs 210,000 | Rs 180,000 | Rs 150,000 | 12.9% |
Answers use the latest Central Bank rate and update every business day.
Banks publish advances between Rs 210,000 (Regional Development Bank) and Rs 240,000 (Regional Development Bank) per pawn of 22 carat gold. That is 66% to 75% of its value at today's Central Bank rate. Compare every bank on the pawning rates page.
Published rates range from 12.9% to 15.5% a year, depending on the bank and the term. Some banks publish only the advance amount; their interest rate is given at the branch.
For 22 carat gold the published advances are 66% to 75% of the value at today's Central Bank rate (Rs 319,126 per pawn).
Published terms range from 3 to 12 months. Shorter gold loans often come with a higher advance, and some banks allow part payments and renewal at the end of the term.
Banks ask for an identity document, such as the national identity card, a passport or a driving licence, and the jewellery itself, which is weighed and checked for purity at the branch.
Each amount is read from the bank's own website every day and shown with a link to that page. 6 banks publish an advance per pawn; banks that do not publish one are not listed.
Prices are for information only. Jewellers and banks set their own prices.